Elma with very high resolution

General discussion about the games and the scene.

Moderator: Moporators

Post Reply
User avatar
dz
first 39tt
Posts: 3749
Joined: 19 May 2002, 15:16
Team: FM
Location: Finland
Contact:

Elma with very high resolution

Post by dz »

Does anyone play higher than 2500x1000 resolution?

I don't seem to get Elma to work with higher resolution. I've tried both with fullscreen and D3DWindower.

This resolution is fine, but still quite boring as windowed when display is 3440x1440.
User avatar
Kopaka
39mins club
Posts: 6610
Joined: 23 May 2002, 13:59
Team: LAME
Location: In a northern danish city beating YOUR record.
Contact:

Re: Elma with very high resolution

Post by Kopaka »

Does it not open at all or do you get error when opening a level?

If the latter have you tried with higher zoom? The issue with large resolutions tends to be that the view goes too far out of bounds. If the former I don't know exactly the issue. I couldn't open the game either when I tried with 3840x2160.
User avatar
dz
first 39tt
Posts: 3749
Joined: 19 May 2002, 15:16
Team: FM
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Elma with very high resolution

Post by dz »

Seems to actually be the vertical resolution that is the limiting factor. Horizontally I can get all the way to 3000+, but vertically above 1118 is causing the game to crash.

By crash I mean, it starts fine, but when choosing "Play" from the menu, the infamous "Sorry, internal error" appears. So it's before choosing a level, it's already in the main level selection list.

I'll try with different zoom options and report later.
sunl
Kuski
Posts: 346
Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 16:23

Re: Elma with very high resolution

Post by sunl »

Add an empty file called "message.inf" in your C:/Programs/Elma/ folder and reproduce the internal error. It should display the error on the screen so we know what the error is.

What error is produced?
User avatar
jonsykkel
Kuski
Posts: 982
Joined: 24 Nov 2009, 20:53
Contact:

Re: Elma with very high resolution

Post by jonsykkel »

prety sure erors bcz trying to display to many items in list
status:ONLINE - - -  drinking:GOFE - - - iq:85 - - - elasto mania ranking:#1
User avatar
jonsykkel
Kuski
Posts: 982
Joined: 24 Nov 2009, 20:53
Contact:

Re: Elma with very high resolution

Post by jonsykkel »

try put this in ur eol folder and run after eolconfing ur resolution http://zzz.ink/elma/tools/eolresofix.exe
status:ONLINE - - -  drinking:GOFE - - - iq:85 - - - elasto mania ranking:#1
User avatar
Lee
37mins club
Posts: 2362
Joined: 22 Apr 2005, 05:12
Location: New Zealand

Re: Elma with very high resolution

Post by Lee »

I had a similar issue 2 years ago. You might find your answer in this topic.
User avatar
iCS
Kuski
Posts: 352
Joined: 31 Dec 2015, 11:36
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Elma with very high resolution

Post by iCS »

Checked this topic and finally managed to set 4K resolution at least for replay rendering.
So elma crashes if resolution is too high and the levels list gets too long. 😒
But! It's possible to go directly to the Replay menu, then it won't say internal error if there's not too many replays in the rec folder.
Apparently there's still a limit at 2048 pixels for height, but it accepts 3840 for width. Easy to fix to 2160p with a footer.
So, here is (as far as I know) the first 4K elma video ever!
User avatar
iCS
Kuski
Posts: 352
Joined: 31 Dec 2015, 11:36
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Elma with very high resolution

Post by iCS »

iCS wrote: 21 Jan 2018, 18:47 Apparently there's still a limit at 2048 pixels for height, but it accepts 3840 for width.
Update: 2048p doesn't work sometimes.
Kept getting internal errors while I was rendering pole vault replays, and a Zero replay. Got error only at brutal spots.
Then I tried to lower the height limit, managed to render the first replay in 1950p, but an other pole rec worked only in 1920p.
This seems to be a safe limit, everything works at this resolution so far.
sunl
Kuski
Posts: 346
Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 16:23

Re: Elma with very high resolution

Post by sunl »

What internal error did you get? And when did you get it?
User avatar
iCS
Kuski
Posts: 352
Joined: 31 Dec 2015, 11:36
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Elma with very high resolution

Post by iCS »

sunl wrote: 20 Mar 2018, 22:42 What internal error did you get? And when did you get it?
error message:

Code: Select all

ecset::kitesz Xe1 < 20 || Xe2 > maxx-20 || ye1 < 20 || ye2 > sorszam-20!
bike in the last succesfully rendered frame before crash:
http://kopasite.net/up/oh6c544oopxa0cn/snp00031.png
http://kopasite.net/up/fji371uvngd3kj3/snp00225.png
3840x2048, 3x zoom.
sunl
Kuski
Posts: 346
Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 16:23

Re: Elma with very high resolution

Post by sunl »

That's an out-of-bounds error

When the bike reaches the edge of the level, it tries to draw parts of the level too far off the edge

You get the same error if you fall out of bounds with the bike

You can fix this by viewing the replay in a edited level with extra polygons in the borders to expand level size
sunl
Kuski
Posts: 346
Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 16:23

Re: Elma with very high resolution

Post by sunl »

Here's a program that will fix your problems

http://kopasite.net/up/1/OutOfBoundsZoomFix.zip

Code: Select all

import os
from elma.packing import unpack_level as unpack
from elma.packing import pack_level as pack
from elma.models import Level
from elma.models import Point
from elma.models import Polygon

def OutOfBoundsFix(level,distance):
    minx=level.polygons[0].points[0].x
    maxx=level.polygons[0].points[0].x
    miny=level.polygons[0].points[0].y
    maxy=level.polygons[0].points[0].y
    for polygon in level.polygons:
        for point in polygon.points:
            if point.x<minx:
                minx=point.x
            if point.x>maxx:
                maxx=point.x
            if point.y<miny:
                miny=point.y
            if point.y>maxy:
                maxy=point.y
    minx-=distance
    miny-=distance
    maxx+=distance
    maxy+=distance
    level.polygons.append(Polygon([Point(minx,miny),Point(minx-0.000001,miny-0.000001),Point(minx,miny-0.000001)],False))
    level.polygons.append(Polygon([Point(maxx,maxy),Point(maxx-0.000001,maxy-0.000001),Point(maxx,maxy-0.000001)],False))
    return level
            
def LoopLevels(distance):
    if not(os.path.exists("out")):
        os.makedirs("out")
    for file in os.listdir():
        if(file.lower().endswith(".lev")):
            with open(file,'rb') as f:
                level=unpack(f.read())
                level=OutOfBoundsFix(level,distance)
                with open("out/%s"%file,'wb') as f2:
                    f2.write(pack(level))
distance=float(input("Please insert a number for how far the buffer polygons should be from the borders of the map (recommend 7)\nNumber: "))
LoopLevels(distance)
User avatar
iCS
Kuski
Posts: 352
Joined: 31 Dec 2015, 11:36
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Elma with very high resolution

Post by iCS »

Awesome! Sent the link to Sla so he can add it to his site.
User avatar
A.K.B.
37mins club
Posts: 4122
Joined: 10 Dec 2005, 11:12
Location: Brisbane
Contact:

Re: Elma with very high resolution

Post by A.K.B. »

Many LGRs crash when I set Elma to 2560x1440. It's so unstable that it's annoying. Have to use low qual 1080p :P

Was there ever a fix to this? :?:
Image
1 Golden Apple Award: Rookie of the Year
FinMan wrote:I prefer AKB:s topics to Xratios ones :)
sunl
Kuski
Posts: 346
Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 16:23

Re: Elma with very high resolution

Post by sunl »

Hey AKB do you increase zoom? What error message do you get when it crashes and when?
User avatar
A.K.B.
37mins club
Posts: 4122
Joined: 10 Dec 2005, 11:12
Location: Brisbane
Contact:

Re: Elma with very high resolution

Post by A.K.B. »

I use 2.0x zoom. It breaks some LGRs and crashes elma on occasion...
Error message is: elma.exe has stopped
Image
1 Golden Apple Award: Rookie of the Year
FinMan wrote:I prefer AKB:s topics to Xratios ones :)
sunl
Kuski
Posts: 346
Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 16:23

Re: Elma with very high resolution

Post by sunl »

Zoom breaks some lgrs. You don't get any internal error?
User avatar
A.K.B.
37mins club
Posts: 4122
Joined: 10 Dec 2005, 11:12
Location: Brisbane
Contact:

Re: Elma with very high resolution

Post by A.K.B. »

I'm afraid no Internal Error. Rather, just a straight crash with the following dialogue box.
Image
Image
1 Golden Apple Award: Rookie of the Year
FinMan wrote:I prefer AKB:s topics to Xratios ones :)
Post Reply