Mopolauta

Elasto Mania board
It is currently 23 Mar 2017, 00:59

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 579 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12
Author Message
PostPosted: 31 Dec 2016, 19:43 
Offline
39mins club

Joined: 29 Dec 2002, 19:17
Posts: 1503
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
dawid wrote:
what about just add key shortcut to center the view?
I'd prefer to have the kuski at the center at all times (unless I'm moving the screen manually). Anyway, there is an option for that now in the newest version, because Smibu is #1 dev and we all love him :beer:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 7 Jan 2017, 18:12 
Offline
Kuski

Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 16:23
Posts: 207
Bug. When I use text function, click somewhere on map to have a sample text, then choose a font called "ChopinScript", I get the following error.

I feel like the error should be better handled and not crash the program.Cheerios.

Edit: Issue is known: https://gitlab.com/Smibu/elmanager/issues/20

_________________
>>>ALL CONTRIBUTIONS<<<

DINO RUN 2 | FANCYPIC.EXE | SPINBOOSTING | Best public int replays


Last edited by sunl on 14 Jan 2017, 19:12, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 13 Jan 2017, 19:19 
Offline
Kuski
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2010, 20:31
Posts: 949
I have noticed that changing the foreground/background is not included in Ctrl+Z\Ctrl+Y history, is that a bug? I don't have the latest version yet though.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 14 Jan 2017, 19:11 
Offline
Kuski

Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 16:23
Posts: 207
https://gitlab.com/Smibu/elmanager/issues/67

Is it just me or was this fixed sometime in the last 3 months? I remember coming across this problem but I don't see it anymore today. Maybe I'm just not reproducing properly.

In any case if it isn't fixed and I'm just not reproducing, for 2 pictures with the same distance, the picture earlier in the picture list will appear on top of the later picture, which seems to be correctly programmed in sle.

_________________
>>>ALL CONTRIBUTIONS<<<

DINO RUN 2 | FANCYPIC.EXE | SPINBOOSTING | Best public int replays


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2017, 14:14 
Offline
Kuski

Joined: 15 Jun 2007, 13:17
Posts: 436
Location: Finland
I'll try to fix the font bug for next version. Quite many people have got that.

And yea kuch, that's a bug, I wrote it down. Same happens with title and lgr name.

I think I never really tried to reproduce #67, but kuchitsu reported it here and showed pics: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6101&start=450#p249770 btw I don't have the level file; can someone give?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2017, 16:36 
Offline
Kuski
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2010, 20:31
Posts: 949
Well, that level is KUBA0837, but I edited it when I encountered the distance problem (I think by incresasing some distances by 1). So I don't have the buggy version, but it might be possible to revert to it by changing the distances back to 380.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 23 Jan 2017, 04:36 
Offline
Kuski

Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 16:23
Posts: 207
If grass is too far out of boundaries of level, eol hard crashes.
No error given by SLE

?Maybe same boundaries as for pictures


Attachments:
glitch.lev [1.01 KiB]
Downloaded 6 times

_________________
>>>ALL CONTRIBUTIONS<<<

DINO RUN 2 | FANCYPIC.EXE | SPINBOOSTING | Best public int replays
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 24 Jan 2017, 23:49 
Offline
Kuski
User avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2008, 17:58
Posts: 1458
Location: jkl
[00:43:38] <EOL_bot> (Simi): guys i just tested SLE lev editor
[00:43:43] <EOL_bot> (Simi): its so awesome
[00:43:59] <EOL_bot> (Simi): but my level got deleted after 20 mins of work
[00:44:21] <EOL_bot> (roope): how deleted
[00:44:34] <EOL_bot> (Simi): it said sth about some suggested modifications
[00:44:46] <EOL_bot> (Simi): bam everything gone
[00:49:59] <EOL_bot> (Simi): it was after i added grass
[00:50:28] <EOL_bot> (Simi): got internal error when testing then i wanted to remove grass again
[00:51:01] <EOL_bot> (Simi): im just shocked that the whole file is not there anymore :D
[00:51:26] <EOL_bot> (DRACON): Simi, i got that once too
[00:51:33] <EOL_bot> (DRACON): not sure if got same message
[00:51:36] <EOL_bot> (roope): i think sounds like some actual error, not a "feature" :D
[00:52:12] <EOL_bot> (DRACON): after that i always close sle before testing :D

So yeah, not a lot of initial info to work with but maybe Smibu has some idea what's going on?

_________________
Team MiE - MiE Cup 1
Prestigious member of 14.6x Tutor14 club


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 25 Jan 2017, 03:15 
Offline
Kuski

Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 16:23
Posts: 207
I'm pretty sure this bug happens with PolyOp when the original polygon ends up being completely deleted, but not 100% sure.

See glitch level. Do PolyOp (A-B), where the first polygon is the inner triangle and the second polygon is the outer triangle and the bug is reproduced.

Cheers,

sunl.


************** Exception Text **************
System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException: Index was out of range. Must be non-negative and less than the size of the collection.
Parameter name: index
at System.ThrowHelper.ThrowArgumentOutOfRangeException(ExceptionArgument argument, ExceptionResource resource)
at Elmanager.Polygon.get_XMin()
at Elmanager.Level.UpdateBounds()
at Elmanager.Forms.LevelEditor.SetModified(Boolean value, Boolean updateHistory)
at Elmanager.EditorTools.PolyOpTool.MouseDown(MouseEventArgs mouseData)
at Elmanager.Forms.LevelEditor.MouseDownEvent(Object sender, MouseEventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnMouseDown(MouseEventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseDown(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


Attachments:
Glitch2.lev [1.06 KiB]
Downloaded 6 times

_________________
>>>ALL CONTRIBUTIONS<<<

DINO RUN 2 | FANCYPIC.EXE | SPINBOOSTING | Best public int replays
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 27 Jan 2017, 16:07 
Offline
Kuski
User avatar

Joined: 21 Feb 2016, 17:59
Posts: 224
small feature request: make it posible to have the filename suggestion go in descending order, so if i have j2ballerina876 made it would suggest j2ballerina875. useful for balles if wanna have the newest level first in the list need to make in that way

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 29 Jan 2017, 16:58 
Offline
Kuski

Joined: 15 Jun 2007, 13:17
Posts: 436
Location: Finland
Here is a test version (the stuff below refers to this one): https://mkl.io/files/Elmanager_dbg.zip

kuchitsu wrote:
So I don't have the buggy version, but it might be possible to revert to it by changing the distances back to 380.
I was able to get the bug in a simple test lev. It seems Elma draws all unclipped pictures behind others (those with sky/ground clipping) if the distances are the same. So I modified SLE to do the same. It's still not perfect. Mixing pictures and textures with same distances may give different result, but they have different default distances anyway so it's not so bad.

sunl: Fixed the PolyOp bug; it happened because PolyOp created a polygon with 0 vertices which then causes the crash.

The grass bug seems to be a bit trickier because it's not clear what the limit is. And it seems to crash differently (internal error) if you put the grass far left or right. So it only hard crashes with far above or below. Currently I'm not too motivated to investigate this, so I leave it unfixed for now.

Also possibly fixed the font bug. I can't get the bug on my comp, so someone (roope, J2, sunl?) will have to confirm whether it's fixed or not.

roope: No idea what could cause Simi's problem. Would be nice if someone knows how to get the bug.

J2: Ok, I didn't add a separate option for that but now SLE tries to check if the lev numbers are going up or down.

kuchitsu wrote:
I have noticed that changing the foreground/background is not included in Ctrl+Z\Ctrl+Y history, is that a bug?
Those are now saved in the history, as well as changing lev title or LGR name.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 29 Jan 2017, 18:51 
Offline
Kuski

Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 16:23
Posts: 207
Bug persists, but SLE doesn't shut down completely. Gives error message once and then can choose different font or cancel.

ChopinScript:

************** Exception Text **************
System.ArgumentException: Only TrueType fonts are supported. This is not a TrueType font.
at System.Drawing.Font.FromLogFont(Object lf, IntPtr hdc)
at System.Windows.Forms.FontDialog.UpdateFont(LOGFONT lf)
at System.Windows.Forms.FontDialog.RunDialog(IntPtr hWndOwner)
at System.Windows.Forms.CommonDialog.ShowDialog(IWin32Window owner)
at Elmanager.Forms.TextToolForm.fontButton_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)

_________________
>>>ALL CONTRIBUTIONS<<<

DINO RUN 2 | FANCYPIC.EXE | SPINBOOSTING | Best public int replays


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 29 Jan 2017, 21:26 
Offline
Kuski

Joined: 15 Jun 2007, 13:17
Posts: 436
Location: Finland
Hmm... does the exception come right after selecting the buggy font, or only after clicking OK/Apply?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2 Feb 2017, 09:49 
Offline
Kuski
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2010, 20:31
Posts: 949
I have a question about Serpents Tale. In the game I get a tiny masking error (see a little blue dot?) on the first brick polygon, however according to the editor it should be masked fully. So is SLE slightly inaccurate? Or is it something that depends on the game resolution or I don't know what and therefore can't be properly controlled?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2 Feb 2017, 11:05 
Offline
Kuski
User avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2008, 17:58
Posts: 1458
Location: jkl
My hunch was correct; for some reason a new version of the Default LGR (that was spread with the EOL archive from Jappe's site and which included the masktop mask which wasn't there in the original) has slightly different mask/texture dimensions than the original. It's hard to explain but here's a comparison picture:

Image


EDIT: actually might also be just because of resolution/zoom reasons, because I don't see that pixel error even with the new default.lgr.

On other note: would it be possible to add some kind of zoom indicator to SLE? Or even a possibility to type in a certain zoom. In some cases it would be nice to work with exactly the same zoom as some previous session.

_________________
Team MiE - MiE Cup 1
Prestigious member of 14.6x Tutor14 club


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2 Feb 2017, 16:18 
Offline
Kuski
User avatar

Joined: 13 Feb 2007, 11:14
Posts: 1856
Location: Jyväskylä, Finland
Idea: make a button X do the following: display a ghost bike where your cursor is, maybe with a circle around the kuski as a size indicator. This to make it easier to know how wide or small the tunnel you are making and how much it differs, also make an option for another circle that is x amount bigger than what your bike size is. Just an: idé.

_________________
... Pipe levels ... Höylä levels ...
Image
Image
Signatür ruined by SveinR - smaller plz :*
"I knew it!" - Doomsayer


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 3 Feb 2017, 22:27 
Offline
Kuski

Joined: 15 Jun 2007, 13:17
Posts: 436
Location: Finland
kuchitsu wrote:
I have a question about Serpents Tale. In the game I get a tiny masking error (see a little blue dot?) on the first brick polygon, however according to the editor it should be masked fully. So is SLE slightly inaccurate? Or is it something that depends on the game resolution or I don't know what and therefore can't be properly controlled?
I don't know what causes that. Very possible that SLE is slightly inaccurate.

roope wrote:
On other note: would it be possible to add some kind of zoom indicator to SLE? Or even a possibility to type in a certain zoom. In some cases it would be nice to work with exactly the same zoom as some previous session.
Yea this should be easy to add.

FinMan wrote:
Idea: make a button X do the following: display a ghost bike where your cursor is, maybe with a circle around the kuski as a size indicator. This to make it easier to know how wide or small the tunnel you are making and how much it differs, also make an option for another circle that is x amount bigger than what your bike size is. Just an: idé.
This sounds good too.

Anyone getting the font bug, please answer this:
Smibu wrote:
Hmm... does the exception come right after selecting the buggy font, or only after clicking OK/Apply?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 3 Feb 2017, 23:11 
Offline
Kuski
User avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2008, 17:58
Posts: 1458
Location: jkl
Smibu wrote:
Anyone getting the font bug, please answer this:
Smibu wrote:
Hmm... does the exception come right after selecting the buggy font, or only after clicking OK/Apply?

Right after selecting the font.

_________________
Team MiE - MiE Cup 1
Prestigious member of 14.6x Tutor14 club


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 4 Feb 2017, 02:10 
Offline
Kuski

Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 16:23
Posts: 207
Hi sorry for delay in font answer.

The font bug is taking place somewhere else. One thing is fixed but overall still broken:


PRIOR to Smibu's latest patch a few days ago, this is the behaviour:

Choose Text -> Press Font... -> Click on bad font (e.g. ChopinScript), and while Font dialogue to choose font is still open, error. SLE crashes.

FOLLOWING the latest patch, this is the behaviour:

Choose Text -> Press Font... -> Click on Arial (preview updates to Arial) -> Click on Comic Sans (preview updates to Comic Sans) -> Click on ChopinScript (preview does not update, but no error is given (i.e. bug is fixed but font doesn't work)
THEN, press "OK" and as soon as press "OK", error.
However, can now close dialogue without SLE crashing.

_________________
>>>ALL CONTRIBUTIONS<<<

DINO RUN 2 | FANCYPIC.EXE | SPINBOOSTING | Best public int replays


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 4 Feb 2017, 02:14 
Offline
Kuski

Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 16:23
Posts: 207
Pictures and textures are more-or-less pixel accurate within 0.5 elma pixels except there's weird rounding errors in SLE (like the cut-out pixel in a picture is round instead of blocky in roope's picture, and the topleft and topright aren't equal size. To be more realistic wouldn't have curved the edge where alpha meets solid and would have made it square but dunno if that's super easy to do in which case might not be worth it if the graphics engine thing autodraws it like that.

Might also be zooming error as stated before. With zoom of 1.01-1.99, the exact picture-polygon correspondence moves very slightly which can cause graphical bugs at the pixel level.

_________________
>>>ALL CONTRIBUTIONS<<<

DINO RUN 2 | FANCYPIC.EXE | SPINBOOSTING | Best public int replays


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 7 Feb 2017, 22:40 
Offline
Kuski

Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 16:23
Posts: 207
"qgrass" is a valid texture for mask/sky/ground, as long as lgr contains a qgrass.pcx file

Good for jblaze :)

Maybe SLE can support selecting?

Open this in elastomania with high quality default lgr

http://kopasite.net/up/0/QGRASS.lev

_________________
>>>ALL CONTRIBUTIONS<<<

DINO RUN 2 | FANCYPIC.EXE | SPINBOOSTING | Best public int replays


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 20 Mar 2017, 01:03 
Offline
36mins club
User avatar

Joined: 5 Apr 2006, 03:34
Posts: 1264
Location: Argentina
Dunno if this was already talked but ill write it anyways:

*When you want to paste title level (e.g. "Level Blabla" 01) instead of pasting text, the window to paste another level inside previous one gets opened.

*Question: is going to be added the preview of colours from new images on bosted lgrs made by sunl? At the moment those images can be selected but you can only see empty images inside editor.

Thanks!

_________________
Stolen InternalsProgramsLgr's


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 20 Mar 2017, 05:36 
Offline
Kuski

Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 16:23
Posts: 207
Just to clarify, the issue with the colors not showing up with fancyboost is actually because of a transparency feature that if not supported in sle. I already submitted an issue on gitlabhub (https://gitlab.com/Smibu/elmanager/issues/102) so will hopefully be fixed in next version.

It's because sle always assumes that topleft picture corner is transparency, which is not the case for boosted lgr (uses bottomleft or no transparency if I recall)

_________________
>>>ALL CONTRIBUTIONS<<<

DINO RUN 2 | FANCYPIC.EXE | SPINBOOSTING | Best public int replays


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 21 Mar 2017, 00:52 
Offline
Kuski

Joined: 15 Jun 2007, 13:17
Posts: 436
Location: Finland
sunl wrote:
"qgrass" is a valid texture for mask/sky/ground, as long as lgr contains a qgrass.pcx file

Good for jblaze :)

Maybe SLE can support selecting?
Sure, should be easy to add.

Sla wrote:
*When you want to paste title level (e.g. "Level Blabla" 01) instead of pasting text, the window to paste another level inside previous one gets opened.
Ah, I've chosen a bad shortcut for level import. Maybe it should be Ctrl+I instead.

New test version: https://mkl.io/files/Elmanager_dbg.zip

- Transparency bug might be mostly fixed; for now it assumes black as the transparent color when transparency field value is 11. Please send lev+lgr combo to me if something is not displaying as expected; I didn't really test this comprehensively.
- Font crash might be fixed. Need feedback about what happens when you try to click OK on a buggy font. It should show a message box asking to pick some other font.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 21 Mar 2017, 01:57 
Offline
36mins club
User avatar

Joined: 5 Apr 2006, 03:34
Posts: 1264
Location: Argentina
Oki thanks Smibu.

Another thing not so important but just telling it: when you write "#" in level title, it turns to red thinking that its an invalid character, right? But i tested it on Eol and "#" works fine.
Do you need us to report this kind of things? Maybe its not important at all or maybe you dont have the time or energy to change such little things on the editor.

_________________
Stolen InternalsProgramsLgr's


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 21 Mar 2017, 17:29 
Offline
Kuski

Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 16:23
Posts: 207
Transperancy features work well with boosted levels now (tests 11 and bottomleft and topleft)

Seems like test version didn't implement qgrass at this point (level with qgrass texture didn't have qgrass recognized).

I'm not aware of any lgr that uses 11 with non-default palette that would violate your assumption. If there exists one it would be an obscure lgr. The fact that 11 caused palette 0 to be transparent was actually unknown until 2017 when I encountered it while making fancyboost so I doubt it's been used except by me and I used default palette.

Selecting an unsupported font does work, but the error message is extremely vague so maybe it can be clarified a bit :P. Interesting how the font works in the font dialog preview box but not in SLE.

Image

_________________
>>>ALL CONTRIBUTIONS<<<

DINO RUN 2 | FANCYPIC.EXE | SPINBOOSTING | Best public int replays


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 21 Mar 2017, 23:18 
Offline
Kuski

Joined: 15 Jun 2007, 13:17
Posts: 436
Location: Finland
Sla wrote:
Do you need us to report this kind of things?
Yea of course small things can be reported too. They're more likely to get fixed/added than big ones, after all :)

For example this "#" bug needed just one character addition to be fixed.

sunl: No qgrass support yet, but I'll try to add it for the next (test) version. I'm not sure how I could improve the font error message. Maybe I could repeat what Windows tells: "This is not a TrueType font bla bla", but the user cannot do anything about it anyway. I don't have a clue either why (some versions of) Windows throws that kind of exception for some fonts.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 22 Mar 2017, 00:21 
Offline
Kuski

Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 16:23
Posts: 207
I forgot what the error message was and only have fonts with error on my other computer, but I was thinking when I read error message that it wasn't super clear for example that basically you could never ever use this font - it was more of a "try again later" type of error message vibe that I got.

Thx for excellent SLE support Smibu

Edit: I noticed you included 10 as no transparency. I'd just like to mention that this number only works for masks (i.e. mask is a solid rectangle without transparency) - this number throws an error for normal pictures.

_________________
>>>ALL CONTRIBUTIONS<<<

DINO RUN 2 | FANCYPIC.EXE | SPINBOOSTING | Best public int replays


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 22 Mar 2017, 03:18 
Offline
Kuski

Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 16:23
Posts: 207
Also sorry one more detail:

qfood1-9 (as well as qup/qdown) (http://wiki.elmaonline.net/LGR/Technica ... ctures.lst)
are hardcoded to set the transperancy to the topleft corner, and so

if (lgrImageName in ["qfood1",...,"qfood9"])) then
bmp.MakeTransparent(bmp.GetPixel(0, 0))

and ignore the transparency variable

_________________
>>>ALL CONTRIBUTIONS<<<

DINO RUN 2 | FANCYPIC.EXE | SPINBOOSTING | Best public int replays


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 579 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group