3 buttons

General discussion about the games and the scene.

Moderator: Moporators

Post Reply
User avatar
Ky.Jelly
Flood to teh MAX
Posts: 4009
Joined: 20 May 2002, 21:40
Location: Ramarama, Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

3 buttons

Post by Ky.Jelly » 12 Jun 2002, 05:23

i have been studing the elma recs and i have found that at times. unless i am completly blind some people are holding three or more buttons.
this poses a problem for me as on my keyboard if you are already holding two buttons (ie accelerate and left) and them you wish to change direction you have to let on of the other buttons go. this is particulary annoying when u want to change durring a super spin

does any one else experience this problem, is there a way to dissable this dumb keyboard function, and how much of a disadvantage does it put me at compared to thise that can use more than three + keys at a time
:(
[10:51:18] <skint0r> i could SACh see KyJelly working at ICA ;D
[10:51:37] <skint0r> "vad kostar denna?" "wtf ch0b0"
Thursday, March 2nd 2005, 0942 i was 3333 [4.43% of total / 3.25 posts per day]

Hibernatus
Le pilote
Posts: 229
Joined: 19 May 2002, 23:21
Location: France

Post by Hibernatus » 12 Jun 2002, 05:43

Buy an USB keyboard :) Or just try other areas on your keyboard, the numpad for example.

User avatar
SveinR
Moporator
Posts: 5408
Joined: 21 May 2002, 08:05
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Post by SveinR » 12 Jun 2002, 07:51

Yep, like Hibernatus said, or it might be your motherboard as well.
Was it cast for the mass who burn and toil?
Or for the vultures who thirst for blood and oil?
Rules | FAQ

bob
Kuski
Posts: 604
Joined: 9 Jun 2002, 03:59
Location: Melbourne, Aus

ahah

Post by bob » 12 Jun 2002, 07:52

haha u get sucky duck keyboard
a good keyboard is a must
e.g. gettin over 'the wall'
mcleod

User avatar
Ky.Jelly
Flood to teh MAX
Posts: 4009
Joined: 20 May 2002, 21:40
Location: Ramarama, Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Ky.Jelly » 12 Jun 2002, 08:01

the keyboards brand new so it cant be totally lame,
it is a usb keyboard and i have tried the num keys b4
and its starting to piss me off
[10:51:18] <skint0r> i could SACh see KyJelly working at ICA ;D
[10:51:37] <skint0r> "vad kostar denna?" "wtf ch0b0"
Thursday, March 2nd 2005, 0942 i was 3333 [4.43% of total / 3.25 posts per day]

Hibernatus
Le pilote
Posts: 229
Joined: 19 May 2002, 23:21
Location: France

Post by Hibernatus » 12 Jun 2002, 08:07

Ok so it seems to be a different problem.
Can you tell us the brand & model?
Also, can you borrow another keyboard, just to test?

bob
Kuski
Posts: 604
Joined: 9 Jun 2002, 03:59
Location: Melbourne, Aus

Post by bob » 12 Jun 2002, 08:18

yeh ya can use any keyboard ya like
test a few tho coz they mite have same prob
mcleod

User avatar
SveinR
Moporator
Posts: 5408
Joined: 21 May 2002, 08:05
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Post by SveinR » 12 Jun 2002, 08:46

As I said, it might be your motherboard. How new is it, do you know?
Was it cast for the mass who burn and toil?
Or for the vultures who thirst for blood and oil?
Rules | FAQ

User avatar
ribot
Not banned
Posts: 2368
Joined: 19 May 2002, 16:20
Location: Miranda: the true state
Contact:

Post by ribot » 12 Jun 2002, 09:25

many new keyboards have this problem.
-
"leader status in the Elma against-the-system underground" - Abula
-
IncrElastoMania - Elma Simulation - Browser Game 2020
Elma Imager - Command Line Tool 2020

jcl
Donator duck
Posts: 390
Joined: 20 May 2002, 13:59
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post by jcl » 12 Jun 2002, 10:29

Use CTRL to turn, CTRL can be pressed along with two or more keys.

User avatar
Ky.Jelly
Flood to teh MAX
Posts: 4009
Joined: 20 May 2002, 21:40
Location: Ramarama, Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Ky.Jelly » 12 Jun 2002, 10:37

i know im not the only one as it was my mate that brought this little detail to my attention.
i was thinking of the ctrl button before because i used to use it so i could talk on the phone at the same time as playing elma. any way when u play two handed it gets in the way.
my keyboards a Samsung one but im not sure on the model number. i am not sure what the motherboard is either but as it is a farely new computer i imagine it is a fairly new motherboard.
i suppose it doesnt really matter anyway unless you are a 1337 playa anyway
[10:51:18] <skint0r> i could SACh see KyJelly working at ICA ;D
[10:51:37] <skint0r> "vad kostar denna?" "wtf ch0b0"
Thursday, March 2nd 2005, 0942 i was 3333 [4.43% of total / 3.25 posts per day]

H2O2Manden
Kuski
Posts: 39
Joined: 21 May 2002, 18:00
Team: EMA
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Hmmm

Post by H2O2Manden » 12 Jun 2002, 11:51

Hehe, sorry to hear about that problem, it really sux. I have a friend who has the exact same problem, and it really is a disadvantage, he can't do shit with that keyboard. But now he got a g-force 3 and suddenly it's working, so it might be either the motherboard or the graphics card that needs changing. You should really do something about it, 'cause it's piss-annoying, and you won't be able to play good elma with it...

Talking about these damn keyboards, anyone knows if the alo-volt is also a matter of being "lucky" and getting the right keyboard, or is it actually because people are "good" that they know how to do it? I can't make it at all on my regular computer, but on my father's labtop it's way easy. Can I "learn" to do it on my computer, or am I just doomed because the keyboard is no good?
I invented the flying saucer!

User avatar
Ky.Jelly
Flood to teh MAX
Posts: 4009
Joined: 20 May 2002, 21:40
Location: Ramarama, Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Ky.Jelly » 12 Jun 2002, 12:07

i played on a lap top b4 and you can see were the bike had just been cause the screen cant catch up.
is it possible to elma on a game pad or is it strictly keyboard based
my graphics card is a tnt2 so it shouldnt be that i hope
must be that mother board oh well more money gone
[10:51:18] <skint0r> i could SACh see KyJelly working at ICA ;D
[10:51:37] <skint0r> "vad kostar denna?" "wtf ch0b0"
Thursday, March 2nd 2005, 0942 i was 3333 [4.43% of total / 3.25 posts per day]

jcl
Donator duck
Posts: 390
Joined: 20 May 2002, 13:59
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post by jcl » 12 Jun 2002, 14:13

There's a thread on the old mopolauta about alovolt so I'm not going
to explain... Go and read that one

http://pub65.ezboard.com/fmopolautafrm1 ... =499.topic

DacBitch
Kuski
Posts: 194
Joined: 19 May 2002, 17:54
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by DacBitch » 12 Jun 2002, 19:12

i use numpad & left ctrl and it works on every fking pc

User avatar
Ky.Jelly
Flood to teh MAX
Posts: 4009
Joined: 20 May 2002, 21:40
Location: Ramarama, Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Ky.Jelly » 15 Jun 2002, 08:35

thankz got it sorted
the only arse now is that i have to change the way in which i play the game.
[10:51:18] <skint0r> i could SACh see KyJelly working at ICA ;D
[10:51:37] <skint0r> "vad kostar denna?" "wtf ch0b0"
Thursday, March 2nd 2005, 0942 i was 3333 [4.43% of total / 3.25 posts per day]

User avatar
Karlis
Höylä Optimus
Posts: 1081
Joined: 26 Jun 2002, 09:11
Location: Hellsinki

Post by Karlis » 11 Aug 2002, 19:25

and dz is whining cos he can't press 6(!) buttons at the same time with his keyboard, think about that.......it's sick.
Tomorrow's Lucky Run Solutions Today
Flowertouching Men
Image

User avatar
dz
first 39tt
Posts: 3745
Joined: 19 May 2002, 15:16
Team: FM
Location: Finland
Contact:

Post by dz » 11 Aug 2002, 19:58

havent you ever done brutal alovoltvoltbounce after braking during fall and controlling wheel movement by gas button preparing for brake+turn+gas landing ??

seriously..

User avatar
Karlis
Höylä Optimus
Posts: 1081
Joined: 26 Jun 2002, 09:11
Location: Hellsinki

lol

Post by Karlis » 11 Aug 2002, 20:06

oh man, you're killing me :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D


I've heard that live too :D
Tomorrow's Lucky Run Solutions Today
Flowertouching Men
Image

User avatar
Abula
Moposite admin
Posts: 4410
Joined: 16 May 2002, 23:00
Team: FM
Location: Helsinki
Contact:

Post by Abula » 11 Aug 2002, 20:41

Isn't 5 max?

<-, -> (though supervolt could be done by pressing only alovolt key), gas, brake, space. What else? Esc, eh..?
40:02,71 (104.) | WCup4: 8. | 3x WR | 3x GAA | 9x FEM | KOM | Article | UPLOAD

knock
Kuski
Posts: 14
Joined: 19 May 2002, 22:26
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by knock » 11 Aug 2002, 20:45

oh shit, now thats hardcore :D

MJXII
Kuski
Posts: 336
Joined: 19 May 2002, 17:58
Location: sleeping

Post by MJXII » 12 Aug 2002, 21:01

Some keyboards are awful. On my sister's computer you can only press 2 buttons at a time. You can't accelerate+rotate+turn around at once unless you change the keys to numpad (which I prefer) but ohhh, no, will she let me do that? Hell no.

Post Reply