Elmanager - Updated 1 August 2018

Advertise your levels, contests, sites etc.

Moderator: Moporators

Post Reply
Smibu
Kuski
Posts: 455
Joined: 15 Jun 2007, 13:17
Location: Finland

Re: Elmanager - Updated 28th May 2017

Post by Smibu » 26 Dec 2017, 21:38

Next version beta.

Last year I wrote this:
Smibu wrote:Alright, I improved the handling of default values in picture tool based on your suggestions and common sense. The logic goes like this:

* Change distance and clipping to default values automatically when creating a new picture.
* Change distance and clipping to default values automatically after clicking "D" button.
* No longer change distance or clipping after touching either of them manually.
* Do not change distance or clipping when editing an existing picture.
I think the first (emphasized) bullet is not a good idea, as Ramone explained - if you place a picture, adjust its position with Select tool and then come back to Picture tool to create new ones, it's too surprising that the values have changed.

So I made two changes to Picture tool:

* Picture tool remembers the last selected picture (including the selected clipping/distance).
* You can choose from settings in which case the distance and clipping should be set to defaults:
(a) always when changing picture/texture, except after they've been touched after the tool window was opened.
(b) only when changing picture/texture after opening the picture tool for the first time or after clicking "D".

Other changes:

* Added support for high DPI monitors.
* SLE: Inactive grass edges are now shown dashed.
* SLE: Bugfix: Crash if LGR had no images.
* SLE: Bugfix: Too many pictures were excluded from the list of available pictures.

iCS, dani, Schumi: I wrote those down.

User avatar
Hosp
38mins club
Posts: 1820
Joined: 30 Aug 2009, 20:55
Team: MiE
Location: Uppsala, Sweden.

Re: Elmanager - Updated 28th May 2017

Post by Hosp » 27 Dec 2017, 09:17

Nice ty always thought was strange that it was reset to default in pic settings :p
Image
tomat

Smibu
Kuski
Posts: 455
Joined: 15 Jun 2007, 13:17
Location: Finland

Re: Elmanager - Updated 5 January 2018

Post by Smibu » 5 Jan 2018, 21:49

Ok nice, no bug reports from the beta version, so I pushed the update.

Pab: You might need to revert the DPI workaround thing.

User avatar
danitah
Kuski
Posts: 709
Joined: 24 May 2004, 16:22
Contact:

Re: Elmanager - Updated 5 January 2018

Post by danitah » 11 Jan 2018, 18:00

Could there be a way to force text rendering even if there are rendering errors? I'm trying to import a lot of symbols at once and random ones are getting topology errors (one example: https://emojipedia.org/ram/ , doesn't work with default text, works with bold). It's quite much work to figure out which characters are not getting rendered, and if there would be a way to force rendering it might not be a lot of work to fix. If it's not possible, would it be possible to turn unrenderable characters into 'n/a' or an empty box or something?

Smibu
Kuski
Posts: 455
Joined: 15 Jun 2007, 13:17
Location: Finland

Re: Elmanager - Updated 5 January 2018

Post by Smibu » 11 Jan 2018, 21:19

Yeah, I think some option to allow topology errors in text is simple to add.

User avatar
jblaze
38mins club
Posts: 644
Joined: 23 Apr 2010, 20:36
Location: chair

Re: Elmanager - Updated 5 January 2018

Post by jblaze » 31 Jan 2018, 16:12

i downloaded the newest version and program stops working when the main window gets opened. older version i had (2011) opens normally. any way to solve?
It's nice to be important, but it's more important to be nice.
(Devann) u are the master of your own universe. remember that

Smibu
Kuski
Posts: 455
Joined: 15 Jun 2007, 13:17
Location: Finland

Re: Elmanager - Updated 5 January 2018

Post by Smibu » 31 Jan 2018, 19:23

Try ticking that box: Image

If it doesn't work, try deleting all Elmanager*.dat files.

User avatar
jblaze
38mins club
Posts: 644
Joined: 23 Apr 2010, 20:36
Location: chair

Re: Elmanager - Updated 5 January 2018

Post by jblaze » 31 Jan 2018, 21:42

oke, the problem was that my pc decided not to extract all files from the archive lol :0 the folder was incomplete. dunno how that happened, its working allright. thanks for the attempt :D
great job keeping the program updated all those years btw, its really lovely
It's nice to be important, but it's more important to be nice.
(Devann) u are the master of your own universe. remember that

User avatar
danitah
Kuski
Posts: 709
Joined: 24 May 2004, 16:22
Contact:

Re: Elmanager - Updated 5 January 2018

Post by danitah » 5 Feb 2018, 06:42

A few issues/feature requests. Might have mentioned some of these before, don't remember.

- While editing title ctrl c/ctrl v applies changes to lev.

- Trying to save for example as testest43452 (any number) using Filename editbox (not save as) while there is a level called testest gives Error 'A level with this name already exists'

- Renaming filename is buggy, it seems like it works like this: When you edit the filename editbox and click OK, SLE renames the lev file and updates the window title. However it does not apply changes made since last save, and if you save again it saves back to the old filename. Expected behavior for me would be: Save any changes - Rename level file - Load new level file.

- Crosshair doesnt work in cut-connect/draw/pipe/zoom/ellipse/text modes.

- Trying to move the selected texture by clicking in the area where it overlaps with unselected textures makes it switch selection instead. Image Link - Trying to move selected (Blue) textures where it overlaps with unselected (yellow/white) textures cancels the selection and moves the texture behind instead. This sometimes makes it impossible to work with complicated textures without doing a lot of workarounds.

- Would love to have hotkeys for 'Transformation' and 'Snap to grid'. I use these functions all the time and hotkeys would improve workflow a lot.

User avatar
danitah
Kuski
Posts: 709
Joined: 24 May 2004, 16:22
Contact:

Re: Elmanager - Updated 5 January 2018

Post by danitah » 5 Feb 2018, 15:24

Also some bug with poly operations, such as in this example, but it happens with other poly operations as well. Haven't found out exactly why/when it happens, doesn't happen always even with much more complex symmetric difference operations. Just quite often I notice there's a ton more vertices than there should be.

User avatar
danitah
Kuski
Posts: 709
Joined: 24 May 2004, 16:22
Contact:

Re: Elmanager - Updated 5 January 2018

Post by danitah » 8 Feb 2018, 17:18

Also please take away auto-flower when loading lev without one. Don't really get why need this, it's so easy to add flower anyway, and often it's desirable to have levs without flower, for example for apple battles. Also I have some pre-made stuff saved in other levs so when I import, it creates a new flower.

User avatar
bene
Hot kuski
Posts: 796
Joined: 18 Aug 2003, 23:33
Team: dat
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Elmanager - Updated 5 January 2018

Post by bene » 9 Feb 2018, 08:36

danitah wrote:
8 Feb 2018, 17:18
and often it's desirable to have levs without flower, for example for apple battles.
Pls no have reachable flower in all apple battles so zweq can finish them in sl and make entertaining recs for us thanks bye :bear:
Image
Image
Image
Signatür ruined by SveinR - smaller plz :*

User avatar
danitah
Kuski
Posts: 709
Joined: 24 May 2004, 16:22
Contact:

Re: Elmanager - Updated 5 January 2018

Post by danitah » 9 Feb 2018, 09:37

I always try to put if it's not clearly impossible 🐱

User avatar
danitah
Kuski
Posts: 709
Joined: 24 May 2004, 16:22
Contact:

Re: Elmanager - Updated 5 January 2018

Post by danitah » 13 Feb 2018, 19:22

Never mind my requests for hotkeys, it's quite easy to setup in AHK.

edit: Also accidentally found the hotkey for transform, wonder how didn't find before.

edit2: What I'd really like though would be holding ALT to work like it does in chrome for text, so while holding alt you never start moving or selecting stuff accidentally and always select stuff in a rectangle. Duno if well explained, ask me again if it is confusing.

User avatar
danitah
Kuski
Posts: 709
Joined: 24 May 2004, 16:22
Contact:

Re: Elmanager - Updated 5 January 2018

Post by danitah » 27 Feb 2018, 20:16

Hmm, seems like alt-clicking doesn't work quite like I thought. When I alt-click this grass poly it also selects surrounding textures, but for some reason not all. Is this intended behavior?
Image

Smibu
Kuski
Posts: 455
Joined: 15 Jun 2007, 13:17
Location: Finland

Re: Elmanager - Updated 5 January 2018

Post by Smibu » 2 Mar 2018, 21:21

A few issues/feature requests. Might have mentioned some of these before, don't remember.

- While editing title ctrl c/ctrl v applies changes to lev.

- Trying to save for example as testest43452 (any number) using Filename editbox (not save as) while there is a level called testest gives Error 'A level with this name already exists'

- Renaming filename is buggy, it seems like it works like this: When you edit the filename editbox and click OK, SLE renames the lev file and updates the window title. However it does not apply changes made since last save, and if you save again it saves back to the old filename. Expected behavior for me would be: Save any changes - Rename level file - Load new level file.

- Crosshair doesnt work in cut-connect/draw/pipe/zoom/ellipse/text modes.

- Trying to move the selected texture by clicking in the area where it overlaps with unselected textures makes it switch selection instead. Image Link - Trying to move selected (Blue) textures where it overlaps with unselected (yellow/white) textures cancels the selection and moves the texture behind instead. This sometimes makes it impossible to work with complicated textures without doing a lot of workarounds.

- Would love to have hotkeys for 'Transformation' and 'Snap to grid'. I use these functions all the time and hotkeys would improve workflow a lot.
Good findings, I reproed and wrote these down. Transform tool already has a hotkey (space), although currently Select tool must be active. Oh ye you noticed this already.
Also some bug with poly operations, such as in this example, but it happens with other poly operations as well. Haven't found out exactly why/when it happens, doesn't happen always even with much more complex symmetric difference operations. Just quite often I notice there's a ton more vertices than there should be.
Reproed, thanks.
Also please take away auto-flower when loading lev without one. Don't really get why need this, it's so easy to add flower anyway, and often it's desirable to have levs without flower, for example for apple battles. Also I have some pre-made stuff saved in other levs so when I import, it creates a new flower.
I remember (a long time ago) opening a lev without a flower and it gave interror. I think that was the reason I disallowed deleting all flowers. Do flowerless levs work these days?
edit2: What I'd really like though would be holding ALT to work like it does in chrome for text, so while holding alt you never start moving or selecting stuff accidentally and always select stuff in a rectangle. Duno if well explained, ask me again if it is confusing.
Nice, never knew that :O and works also in Firefox. Definitely a sensible feature, wrote it down.
Hmm, seems like alt-clicking doesn't work quite like I thought. When I alt-click this grass poly it also selects surrounding textures, but for some reason not all. Is this intended behavior?
I remember making it so that it only selects the pics whose centers are inside the polygon. I was afraid that it would otherwise select too much, I guess. But maybe it needs to be more "greedy".

User avatar
danitah
Kuski
Posts: 709
Joined: 24 May 2004, 16:22
Contact:

Re: Elmanager - Updated 5 January 2018

Post by danitah » 9 Mar 2018, 05:13

Smibu wrote:
2 Mar 2018, 21:21
I remember (a long time ago) opening a lev without a flower and it gave interror. I think that was the reason I disallowed deleting all flowers. Do flowerless levs work these days?
Lev without any objects gives internal error. As long as there is either an apple or a flower it should work.
Smibu wrote:
2 Mar 2018, 21:21
Hmm, seems like alt-clicking doesn't work quite like I thought. When I alt-click this grass poly it also selects surrounding textures, but for some reason not all. Is this intended behavior?
I remember making it so that it only selects the pics whose centers are inside the polygon. I was afraid that it would otherwise select too much, I guess. But maybe it needs to be more "greedy".
Ok now noticed that the actual corners were outside of the polygon, didn't notice this before, guess it's understandable behavior then.

User avatar
AndrY
38mins club
Posts: 361
Joined: 14 Dec 2015, 17:41
Team: VODKA
Location: Perm, Russia
Contact:

Re: Elmanager - Updated 5 January 2018

Post by AndrY » 31 Mar 2018, 19:33

still text problem

made a norm appleballe without savings, wanted to write "apple", began to make shit with fonts, get error and lev disappeared :(
Please, change lauta :bear: design.
Image
My levs and other Elma things: www.elma-andry.wmsite.ru

User avatar
danitah
Kuski
Posts: 709
Joined: 24 May 2004, 16:22
Contact:

Re: Elmanager - Updated 5 January 2018

Post by danitah » 21 Jul 2018, 00:47

When checking topology, and there are too many vertices, the error counts grass vertices also. so a lev with 5131 ground vertices and 500 grass vertices gives error 'too many, max: 5130, current: 5631', while a lev with 5130 ground vertices and 500 grass vertices passes topology test.

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=9888 Would be great if it would be pos to include this font built into elmanager.

Smibu
Kuski
Posts: 455
Joined: 15 Jun 2007, 13:17
Location: Finland

Re: Elmanager - Updated 5 January 2018

Post by Smibu » 22 Jul 2018, 20:33

danitah wrote:
9 Mar 2018, 05:13
Lev without any objects gives internal error. As long as there is either an apple or a flower it should work.
You're right; I finally bothered to check it. :) Next version will only require 1 object of any kind in addition to start object. There is a new topology error if you forget to add one.
danitah wrote:
21 Jul 2018, 00:47
When checking topology, and there are too many vertices, the error counts grass vertices also. so a lev with 5131 ground vertices and 500 grass vertices gives error 'too many, max: 5130, current: 5631', while a lev with 5130 ground vertices and 500 grass vertices passes topology test.
Thanks, that's fixed for next version!
AndrY wrote:
31 Mar 2018, 19:33
made a norm appleballe without savings, wanted to write "apple", began to make shit with fonts, get error and lev disappeared :(
Sorry, it looks like font handling is still bugged on some systems. It's hard to fix it because they don't reproduce on my machine. If you manage to get the full error message, I might be able to investigate it.
danitah wrote:
21 Jul 2018, 00:47
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=9888 Would be great if it would be pos to include this font built into elmanager.
I wrote this down but I suspect it won't be very easy to make. The font dialog is kind of an opaque Windows component that is very hard to customize. But I won't say it's impossible. For example, I managed to make it auto-preview fonts when changing anything in the dialog (otherwise you'd need to click Apply every time).
danitah wrote: - Renaming filename is buggy, it seems like it works like this: When you edit the filename editbox and click OK, SLE renames the lev file and updates the window title. However it does not apply changes made since last save, and if you save again it saves back to the old filename. Expected behavior for me would be: Save any changes - Rename level file - Load new level file.

- Trying to move the selected texture by clicking in the area where it overlaps with unselected textures makes it switch selection instead. Image Link - Trying to move selected (Blue) textures where it overlaps with unselected (yellow/white) textures cancels the selection and moves the texture behind instead. This sometimes makes it impossible to work with complicated textures without doing a lot of workarounds.
Fixed these too.

Edit: Released the update now. Changelog.

Post Reply