Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Advertise your levels, contests, sites etc.

Moderator: Moporators

User avatar
Zweq
35mins club
Posts: 3987
Joined: 28 Nov 2002, 15:54
Location: suo mesta

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Zweq » 18 Jul 2017, 21:34

For the record: if you only get a small gray square on top left of your screen, then remember to add ddraw_change_resolution.txt in eol folder. Also remember if you have file extensions hidden name the file ddraw_change_resolution textfile without file extension so you dont get ddraw_change_resolution.txt.txt (or be unnab and show file extensions and name it ddraw_change_resolution.txt)
Image

culinko
39mins club
Posts: 1533
Joined: 29 Dec 2002, 19:17
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by culinko » 19 Jul 2017, 10:53

Very interesting find. I was able to finally make it work by adding ddraw_change_resolution.txt. However still can't make it work in windowed mode since ddraw_windowed has priority over ddraw_change_resolution flag. I wonder if something can be done to make windowed mode work...

Edit: I can run it in fullscreen mode without ddraw_change_resolution.txt if I set the resolution in eolconf the same as my desktop resolution. Still can't run it in windowed mode.
Last edited by culinko on 19 Jul 2017, 21:45, edited 1 time in total.
Image

User avatar
pawq
38mins club
Posts: 6370
Joined: 24 Aug 2008, 19:56
Team: TR
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by pawq » 19 Jul 2017, 12:21

I've got a different problem now. Elma works on teh laptop perfectly fine at resolutions higher than native, which obv causes it to go off screen. However, if I put it at native or lower resolution, then the game opens fine, but upon entering a level it goes to golden elma in the first frame and freezes completely, and a moment later spews out an error "An exception occurred during dllentrypoint or dllmain in module: bs.dll". Adding ddraw_change_resolution.txt prevented it from running at resolutions higher than native (incompatible resolution box), but also didn't make it work at native reso (can't remember what happened).

Any other ideas what I could try?

culinko
39mins club
Posts: 1533
Joined: 29 Dec 2002, 19:17
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by culinko » 23 Aug 2017, 19:37

Got another laptop with completely different video card now but still can't run it with ddraw.dll in windowed mode. It works with ddraw_change_resolution flag in fullscreen, though.

For both the flag ddraw_windowed and without any flags it goes like this: elma starts the same as it used to before (grey square), but it actually updates once I alt+tab to different program and back, but it's just a still image and isn't re-drawing immediately. It also registers keystrokes and I am able to close the windowed one by clicking "x" in the upper right corner. So for example if I press enter 4 times after starting the game and I alt+tab to different program and back, I can see that I already entered Warm Up. Obviously can't play the game if I can't see where I'm driving :twisted: Does anyone know how to fix this? I have the newest drivers from NVIDIA.

Edit: I remembered it wrong before so I edited my post. It works the same as on my old laptop except the screen is actually drawn after I alt+tab away and back. Also it works without any flags if Elma resolution = desktop resolution.
Image

User avatar
Abula
Moposite admin
Posts: 4409
Joined: 16 May 2002, 23:00
Team: FM
Location: Helsinki
Contact:

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Abula » 29 Jan 2018, 23:58

I'm also having problems with windowed Elma in Windows 10.

1) 12800 bytes ddraw.dll + ddraw_windowed.txt: Elma opens in window but is gray.
2) 259072 bytes ddraw.dll + ddraw_windowed.txt: Elma opens full screen and works smoothly. But when alt-tabbing back to Windows, resolution is changed to Elma resolution sometimes.

I'm afraid to update my graphic card because I'm using a hack to get a 2560x1440@41Hz resolution to work in my Dell U2713HM monitor and can't lose that.
40:02,71 (104.) | WCup4: 8. | 3x WR | 3x GAA | 9x FEM | KOM | Article | UPLOAD

User avatar
jblaze
38mins club
Posts: 732
Joined: 23 Apr 2010, 20:36
Location: chair

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by jblaze » 3 Feb 2018, 18:30

same thing as abula here. tried 3 .dlls, all combinations inculding compatibilty/reso etc. everything ends up with big grey screen when try to open windowed mode.
It's nice to be important, but it's more important to be nice.
(Devann) u are the master of your own universe. remember that

Ecchi
39mins club
Posts: 423
Joined: 12 May 2009, 15:28
Location: A "child friendly" neighbourhood;o

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Ecchi » 30 Jun 2020, 18:04

With old ddraw.dll My game opens nicely in windowed mode with ddraw_windowed.txt but doesnt seem to register key inputs (stuck on welcome screen)

With the updated win10 ddraw.dll my game opens and runs smoothly but it opens in fullscreen which doesnt work for me.

Any idea why it won't open in windowed mode with the updated .dll?
RIP enthusiast claim image:(

User avatar
Labs
37mins club
Posts: 1084
Joined: 2 May 2005, 14:20
Team: SPEED
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Labs » 30 Jun 2020, 18:52

Dunno if this helps, but try copy this file on elma and setup.

http://kopasite.net/up/0/dxgl.ini

Launches Elma in windowed mode.

Note: you can change this yourself by editing the file dxgl.ini (located in the base elma folder). Open dxgl.ini file in a text editor (like notepad), and change the number in this line:
FullscreenWindowMode=1
The options are: (taken from https://github.com/dxgldotorg/dxgl/blob ... xample.ini)
0 - Use exclusive fullscreen
1 - Use non-exclusive fullscreen, not quite borderless windowed mode
2 - Use a non-resizable window
3 - Use a resizable window, uses scaler mode, preferably 1, 2, 3, or 7
4 - Use a borderless, non-resizable window, also known as windowed borderless
5 - Use a borderless window scaled to the screen
Team SPEED

Image

i love everyone :*

Kazan
34mins club
Posts: 465
Joined: 10 Jan 2006, 17:12
Location: Russia, Miass

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Kazan » 6 Jul 2020, 19:22

1. With this win10 ddraw when i alt-tab from eol resolution doesn't change to desktop's. is it normal?
2. Maybe somebody knows why my eol doesnt capture in obs (on laptop)? only works with SLI/Crossfire mode (which makes shit quality i think)

User avatar
insane guy
Kuski
Posts: 1653
Joined: 22 May 2002, 20:53
Contact:

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by insane guy » 7 Jul 2020, 22:01

Kazan wrote:
6 Jul 2020, 19:22
1. With this win10 ddraw when i alt-tab from eol resolution doesn't change to desktop's. is it normal?
2. Maybe somebody knows why my eol doesnt capture in obs (on laptop)? only works with SLI/Crossfire mode (which makes shit quality i think)
1. same here, tried changing desktop resolution to elma resolution but that sucks a bit...
2. no idea.
"Every night, me go to sleep, me have wet dream..."

User avatar
Sla
36mins club
Posts: 1384
Joined: 5 Apr 2006, 03:34
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Sla » 8 Jul 2020, 00:47

1. Same problem since several years ago when i wanted to test it.

Post Reply