Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Advertise your levels, contests, sites etc.

Moderator: Moporators

User avatar
Kopaka
39mins club
Posts: 6504
Joined: 23 May 2002, 13:59
Team: LAME
Location: In a northern danish city beating YOUR record.
Contact:

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Kopaka » 19 Jan 2016, 11:12

Yes setting vsync on has exactly same effect as vsync off with fps limit to 60/75 depending on your monitor refresh rate. So as long as limiter works, you don't need the ability to turn vsync on.

User avatar
Chris
Kuski
Posts: 1098
Joined: 5 Dec 2008, 16:19
Team: Ferrari
Location: flat track

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Chris » 19 Jan 2016, 18:23

Kopaka wrote:Yes setting vsync on has exactly same effect as vsync off with fps limit to 60/75 depending on your monitor refresh rate. So as long as limiter works, you don't need the ability to turn vsync on.
Physics maybe it's the same, but rendering gets messy on lower-end netbook that can run barely over 60 fps. The smoothest gameplay I can get is when vsync is on, otherwise the background reminds my of texture jittering on psx. I can use other solution to get reasonable fps on windows 10 netbook (that software that Smibu linked while ago), but I wanted to ask whether ddraw can do it.
Lousku wrote:could you mayke shorter sig please :( mega annoying and also against rules :()

User avatar
Sla
36mins club
Posts: 1384
Joined: 5 Apr 2006, 03:34
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Sla » 19 Jan 2016, 21:38

Tried 70fps on Notebook (I dont have my PC since 6 months): So fucking laggy and unplayable
With vsync: So fucking smooth

User avatar
Bjenn
35mins club
Posts: 2374
Joined: 25 Apr 2007, 14:23
Team: EF
Location: Östersund, Sweden

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Bjenn » 20 Jan 2016, 12:01

Maybe could be smoother with vsync off if you had your monitor refresh rate at the same value as your fps, ever tried that?

User avatar
Chris
Kuski
Posts: 1098
Joined: 5 Dec 2008, 16:19
Team: Ferrari
Location: flat track

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Chris » 20 Jan 2016, 17:55

Bjenn wrote:Maybe could be smoother with vsync off if you had your monitor refresh rate at the same value as your fps, ever tried that?
Of course I did, but it is laggy as hell.
Lousku wrote:could you mayke shorter sig please :( mega annoying and also against rules :()

User avatar
John
first 35tt
Posts: 4697
Joined: 28 Sep 2002, 19:42
Team: WNO
Location: Luleå, Sweden

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by John » 25 Feb 2016, 16:00

Tried adding ddraw.dll to my elma directory but my editor is still bugging. If I hold my cursor still I can see the editor menu, but if I start moving the cursor around I get some fast glitching between golden elma and the editor, and the cursor leaves a trace. It's totally impsy to make a level like this, and it's getting kinda annoying. Not that I spend much time in EOL anymore but any help would be appreciated!
Image

Ropelli
Kuski
Posts: 114
Joined: 30 Apr 2007, 13:20

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Ropelli » 25 Feb 2016, 16:12

Yes that's a known bug but unfortunately the only solution is to update the gpu drivers and hope it will help.

User avatar
pawq
38mins club
Posts: 6394
Joined: 24 Aug 2008, 19:56
Team: TR
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by pawq » 9 May 2016, 17:36

Awesome to be able to alt-tab elma again, thanks a lot!

But editor went crazy here too... Any chance for a workaround? Discourages from making levs :/

User avatar
Ruben
Kuski
Posts: 815
Joined: 31 Dec 2012, 18:07
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Ruben » 9 May 2016, 17:52

Pawq wrote:Awesome to be able to alt-tab elma again, thanks a lot!

But editor went crazy here too... Any chance for a workaround? Discourages from making levs :/
Why not have two elmas? One with ddraw and one without.
My fake plants died because I did not pretend to water them.

User avatar
bene
Hot kuski
Posts: 888
Joined: 18 Aug 2003, 23:33
Team: dat
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by bene » 11 May 2016, 08:19

International error screen does not show for me when using this, eol just freezes and frame before crash and pressing key closes eol just like it would if I was on international error screen. Very confusing when it actually hapens.

But I'm using first version released probably so maybe this was fixed already how would I know cba to read whole thread osv.
Image
Image
Image
Signatür ruined by SveinR - smaller plz :*

lompe
Kuski
Posts: 94
Joined: 1 Jul 2011, 15:20
Team: Ferrari

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by lompe » 21 May 2016, 14:33

Is there any fix for alt-tab problem in windows 10, or is the problem even acknowledged since no one seems have reported it here?
After go back to elma from windows it only shows such small window in the top left. Alt-tabbing seems to work in this older version ville_j gave me though, dunno how old version it is. https://www.dropbox.com/s/zylj9n7cs7tvp ... w.dll?dl=0
Image

User avatar
pawq
38mins club
Posts: 6394
Joined: 24 Aug 2008, 19:56
Team: TR
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by pawq » 21 May 2016, 15:27

I've got the latest version I believe (dl'ed exactly 2 weeks ago) and Win10 - no problems with alt-tabbing. The in-game editor's fucked though :/

lompe
Kuski
Posts: 94
Joined: 1 Jul 2011, 15:20
Team: Ferrari

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by lompe » 21 May 2016, 15:36

maybe it's not directly a win10 problem then

pos it's a problem with nvidia graphics cards. both me and ville_j have nvidia graphics cards, so ville_j tried new dll in his other laptop which doesn't have nvidia graphics card and new dll worked fine.
coincidence? un? eeeee?
maybe someone else with nvidia graphics card (and window s10) can tell if have same problem

User avatar
iCS
Kuski
Posts: 332
Joined: 31 Dec 2015, 11:36
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by iCS » 21 May 2016, 22:49

Lammas wrote:Alt-tabbing seems to work in this older version ville_j gave me though, dunno how old version it is. https://www.dropbox.com/s/zylj9n7cs7tvp ... w.dll?dl=0
Diff style 8O I'm using the dll mentioned in main post (file size 12.800 byte, not 259.072 as in your link)
Win10, Nvidia, and alt-tab is working. Int editor doesn't.

User avatar
Sla
36mins club
Posts: 1384
Joined: 5 Apr 2006, 03:34
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Sla » 21 May 2016, 23:14

Tried dropbox link and it works now, Elma goes ridiculous fast. Editor works. Only problem is that when i alt tab to win, screen is weird (like if i changed to wrong resolution) but still can see everything. Lets see if its worth.

lompe
Kuski
Posts: 94
Joined: 1 Jul 2011, 15:20
Team: Ferrari

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by lompe » 22 May 2016, 09:47

wanderable

User avatar
pawq
38mins club
Posts: 6394
Joined: 24 Aug 2008, 19:56
Team: TR
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by pawq » 28 May 2016, 12:42

I have win10+nvidia. Alt-tab is fine, but internal editor nope.

What I noticed is that if I toggle "Default ground/sky" in eolconf then editor works fine when I first open eol, but only the first time - it goes back to crap in the next open :/ Can this be of help to figure out what's going on? Some texture refreshing or gak?

Ropelli
Kuski
Posts: 114
Joined: 30 Apr 2007, 13:20

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Ropelli » 28 May 2016, 16:12

Pawq wrote:Can this be of help to figure out what's going on?
Well, it's already known what's going on. The editor is drawn in parts, and the driver doesn't return the newest bitmap(which is pretty essential so the rendering in parts makes any sense) but instead(afaik) the one before the newest one. So when the next part of the editor is to be drawn, the background isn't the editor that elma draw before, but usually the main menu.

But if checking the default sky/ground makes the bug go away, I think the bug shouldn't happen also when the eol is started the first time after starting the pc. You could test if that works.

User avatar
Hosp
38mins club
Posts: 1961
Joined: 30 Aug 2009, 20:55
Team: MiE
Location: Uppsala, Sweden.
Contact:

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Hosp » 6 Jun 2016, 17:22

I also have that problem, John. I just restart elma a few times until editor works normally. Usually 2-3 tries sometimes 10+...
Image
ToMaT

User avatar
Lousku
Kuski
Posts: 2907
Joined: 5 Feb 2010, 00:25
Team: BAP
Location: expensive land of dads

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Lousku » 6 Jun 2016, 18:14

Maybe this should be included in EOL zips on EOL site and Jappe's site, especially now that many mans are trying to get it working on Win10.
then again i don't know anything
maybe easier not to think abouut alöl things thought than not things thought ... or something..=?

User avatar
Sunshine
Kuski
Posts: 352
Joined: 21 Feb 2016, 17:59

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Sunshine » 7 Jun 2016, 07:22

i actually added it yesterday before your post even!
Elma Online DL: HERE.

User avatar
insane guy
Kuski
Posts: 1653
Joined: 22 May 2002, 20:53
Contact:

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by insane guy » 18 Jul 2016, 00:01

skint0r wrote:btw here video showing editor mongoness, playing in 1080 res if matter: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h-39669QkFE
Same, have to restart elma 1-3 times and then it works fine.

I had one of my two screens disconnected for a while and during that time it never happened. Now have both monitors connected again and the bug appeared first time I opened elma.
"Every night, me go to sleep, me have wet dream..."

User avatar
bene
Hot kuski
Posts: 888
Joined: 18 Aug 2003, 23:33
Team: dat
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by bene » 16 Aug 2016, 09:46

This stopped working for me last week.
I had updated graphics and Windows updates happening last week. Uninstalled all Windows updates and reverted graphics drivers still no luck.

Pls help i cant Elma anymore at all. Eol.exe hängs with ddraw before first screen even shows.
Image
Image
Image
Signatür ruined by SveinR - smaller plz :*

User avatar
Bjenn
35mins club
Posts: 2374
Joined: 25 Apr 2007, 14:23
Team: EF
Location: Östersund, Sweden

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Bjenn » 16 Aug 2016, 11:00

My elma stopped working too after I updated AMD drivers, but I revert my driver every day so I can play elma, I don't know why it keeps going to the newest by itself..
Version 20.xx... is the new which doesn't work, and 19.xx... is working for me. I can check later exactly what the version numbers are.

EDIT: 2016-04-29 Driver version 16.150.2401.1002 is WORKING for me, not any newer.
Last edited by Bjenn on 16 Aug 2016, 16:32, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
bene
Hot kuski
Posts: 888
Joined: 18 Aug 2003, 23:33
Team: dat
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by bene » 16 Aug 2016, 12:42

Thanks bjen I also have AMD maybe I didn't downgrade far enough or something I will try when I get home appreciate.
Image
Image
Image
Signatür ruined by SveinR - smaller plz :*

User avatar
bene
Hot kuski
Posts: 888
Joined: 18 Aug 2003, 23:33
Team: dat
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by bene » 16 Aug 2016, 15:00

Bjen i just downgraded and very last step has a checkbox. "Automatiska uppdateringar".
Image
Image
Image
Signatür ruined by SveinR - smaller plz :*

User avatar
Bjenn
35mins club
Posts: 2374
Joined: 25 Apr 2007, 14:23
Team: EF
Location: Östersund, Sweden

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Bjenn » 16 Aug 2016, 16:30

bene wrote:Bjen i just downgraded and very last step has a checkbox. "Automatiska uppdateringar".
No shit sherlock, one have to untick that shit like three times during installation, fucking insane.
Piece of fucking CP10 shit ass AMD xD
And you can't turn off their messages either about "THERE IS A NEW UPDATE LOOK HERE YOU RETAD"

User avatar
bene
Hot kuski
Posts: 888
Joined: 18 Aug 2003, 23:33
Team: dat
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by bene » 16 Aug 2016, 18:18

geez im sorry for trying to help with the issue you described in your own post.
Image
Image
Image
Signatür ruined by SveinR - smaller plz :*

User avatar
bene
Hot kuski
Posts: 888
Joined: 18 Aug 2003, 23:33
Team: dat
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by bene » 16 Aug 2016, 18:54

Everything works again after updating to Windows 1607.
Image
Image
Image
Signatür ruined by SveinR - smaller plz :*

User avatar
FinMan
36mins club
Posts: 1998
Joined: 13 Feb 2007, 11:14
Team: dat
Location: Jyväskylä, Finland

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by FinMan » 16 Aug 2016, 22:45

Bjenn wrote: No shit sherlock
:|
... .. Pipe levels ... . ...Höylä levels .. ...
"Those who are heartless once cared too much."

User avatar
Bjenn
35mins club
Posts: 2374
Joined: 25 Apr 2007, 14:23
Team: EF
Location: Östersund, Sweden

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Bjenn » 17 Aug 2016, 10:33

=(
Sorry for bad attitude bene, but for me that was a very obvious thing, thanks anyway.
Suddenly it stopped rolling forward, so now I have played elma for two days without having to roll back the driver.

Finman :beer:

User avatar
Madness
35mins club
Posts: 2165
Joined: 1 Jan 2009, 10:51
Location: UK

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Madness » 2 Sep 2016, 13:39

My editor started to work again. All I did was make a new folder in the folder where my Elma folder is and move it in there. Wtf?!
Image

User avatar
bene
Hot kuski
Posts: 888
Joined: 18 Aug 2003, 23:33
Team: dat
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by bene » 2 Sep 2016, 13:43

Maybe you also changed graphics drivers.
Image
Image
Image
Signatür ruined by SveinR - smaller plz :*

User avatar
Madness
35mins club
Posts: 2165
Joined: 1 Jan 2009, 10:51
Location: UK

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Madness » 3 Sep 2016, 00:59

I mean I have two identical Elma folders now and editor works in one and doesn't work in the other one for some obscure reason.
Image

User avatar
kuchitsu
Kuski
Posts: 1359
Joined: 13 Aug 2010, 20:31

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by kuchitsu » 3 Sep 2016, 01:12

Are there any spaces or non-English characters in the first folder's name?

User avatar
bene
Hot kuski
Posts: 888
Joined: 18 Aug 2003, 23:33
Team: dat
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by bene » 3 Sep 2016, 06:58

I had similar wtfs before upgrade to Windows anniversary. The last few Windows updates really fucked things up. I had one folder where eol launched rest not. Folder I:\elma35 worked and I:\eol2 did not osv. No different between folders.
Image
Image
Image
Signatür ruined by SveinR - smaller plz :*

User avatar
Madness
35mins club
Posts: 2165
Joined: 1 Jan 2009, 10:51
Location: UK

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Madness » 3 Sep 2016, 11:47

Alright, so it's the name of the folder that makes a difference. I've now tried like 50 different names and there's no pattern - sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.

For example:
"Elastomania" doesn't work
"elastomania" works
"Elma" works
"elma" doesn't work
"test" works
"dunno" doesn't work
"duno" works
"abc" doesn't work

edit: Actually the location makes a difference too. Now I've moved it to another folder and got different results. It's completely hit-and-miss.
Image

User avatar
milagros
Cheatless
Posts: 4496
Joined: 19 May 2002, 17:05

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by milagros » 4 Sep 2016, 00:47

4 char dir maybe?
edit: oh elastomania is not:)
[carebox]

User avatar
pawq
38mins club
Posts: 6394
Joined: 24 Aug 2008, 19:56
Team: TR
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by pawq » 12 Sep 2016, 20:32

Höly shit, some groundbreaking research here! Doesn't matter if there is a clear pattern as long as there's a way to make it work! Tbh the unworking editor was strongly discouraging me from making levs... I'll experiment a bit when I get home and post here if I get interesting results :)

User avatar
Sunshine
Kuski
Posts: 352
Joined: 21 Feb 2016, 17:59

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Sunshine » 18 Dec 2016, 15:27

i get error "application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b)." when trying to start elma using ddraw, first it complained about some mcvs120.dll missing and i downloaded that and after got this error. tried google solutions and they suggested downloading million other dll and reinstalling frameworks but none of them worked, halp
Elma Online DL: HERE.

User avatar
ley
Kuski
Posts: 50
Joined: 15 May 2016, 22:57

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by ley » 20 Dec 2016, 20:03

There is a DDRAW file which DXGL outputs in the Elma folder.

I have not seen all the options yet, and a new GUI with more options is forthcoming, but it might be something interesting to some of you guys

EDIT:
Vermin Supreme wrote:i get error "application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b)." when trying to start elma using ddraw, first it complained about some mcvs120.dll missing and i downloaded that and after got this error. tried google solutions and they suggested downloading million other dll and reinstalling frameworks but none of them worked, halp
Have you tried VCREDIST 2013 or something? (downloadable from Microsoft, and includes lots of DLLs). Much more efficient than a Google search.

btw, where are your other 800 posts? aren't you jappe2? I remember you somewhat insulting me with your 1000th post
hmm
you did irreversible damage
All bounces are equal, but some bounces are more equal than others.

i've just made head through poly; thought i'd share:
http://mopolauta.moposite.com/download/file.php?id=323 http://mopolauta.moposite.com/download/file.php?id=324

User avatar
Sunshine
Kuski
Posts: 352
Joined: 21 Feb 2016, 17:59

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Sunshine » 20 Dec 2016, 20:45

i actually did try those but tried now again with "repair" option and it worked wow! or maybe it some some other redistributable but thanks anyway. my old post are in same place where barteks posts are
Elma Online DL: HERE.

User avatar
ley
Kuski
Posts: 50
Joined: 15 May 2016, 22:57

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by ley » 20 Dec 2016, 20:52

Vermin Supreme wrote:i actually did try those but tried now again with "repair" option and it worked wow! or maybe it some some other redistributable but thanks anyway.
you're welcome
Vermin Supreme wrote:my old post are in same place where barteks posts are
good.

but i like your art and levels tho, so we're quits :)
All bounces are equal, but some bounces are more equal than others.

i've just made head through poly; thought i'd share:
http://mopolauta.moposite.com/download/file.php?id=323 http://mopolauta.moposite.com/download/file.php?id=324

sunl
Kuski
Posts: 336
Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 16:23

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by sunl » 10 Jan 2017, 01:23

Lammas wrote:Is there any fix for alt-tab problem in windows 10, or is the problem even acknowledged since no one seems have reported it here?
After go back to elma from windows it only shows such small window in the top left. Alt-tabbing seems to work in this older version ville_j gave me though, dunno how old version it is. https://www.dropbox.com/s/zylj9n7cs7tvp ... w.dll?dl=0
Ditto just got Windows 10 today and this dll works perfect for me, while new dll causes editor glitch and alt-tab not working, and no dll causes elma crash.

Cheers

User avatar
Sla
36mins club
Posts: 1384
Joined: 5 Apr 2006, 03:34
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Sla » 10 Jan 2017, 02:35

Anyone else gets Elma resolutions when alt tabing to Win? E.g.: if you use 640x480 on Elma and 1024x768 on Win, when u alt-tab to win, you will see it on 640x480 (same if you use 800x600, etc). Would be great to fix it cuz its really fast with ddraw.
Thanks.

User avatar
Orcc
Moporator
Posts: 1680
Joined: 19 Oct 2004, 20:44
Team: IS
Location: Espoo, Finland

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Orcc » 10 Jan 2017, 09:27

Side question: why would you use some other than Windows' resolution in EOL?
NoobSty2-competition

"If you're afraid of pedophiles - grow up"

User avatar
ville_j
Kuski
Posts: 1506
Joined: 17 Aug 2002, 15:45
Team: IS
Location: on the roof
Contact:

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by ville_j » 10 Jan 2017, 10:19

Well I usually use lower resolution to get more fps.
< roopemies> horror and frustrating and can't play, sounds just like you
Beer battle winner 2014 and 2015

User avatar
Zweq
34mins club
Posts: 3990
Joined: 28 Nov 2002, 15:54
Location: suo mesta

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Zweq » 10 Jan 2017, 14:01

- beter fps
- used to 800x
- get coments in fem wow you so gooD even with shit skewed 4:3 on 16:9 monitor reso wtf dude?
Image

User avatar
Lousku
Kuski
Posts: 2907
Joined: 5 Feb 2010, 00:25
Team: BAP
Location: expensive land of dads

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Lousku » 10 Jan 2017, 16:04

Zweq wrote:- get coments in fem wow you so gooD even with shit skewed 4:3 on 16:9 monitor reso wtf dude?
I just refuse to believ that doesn't hev at leest a litel bit of a detrimental efekt.
then again i don't know anything
maybe easier not to think abouut alöl things thought than not things thought ... or something..=?

User avatar
Sla
36mins club
Posts: 1384
Joined: 5 Apr 2006, 03:34
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Re: Elastomania ddraw wrapper

Post by Sla » 10 Jan 2017, 17:45

Ye Orcc, cuz all replys above + i dont like high resos + my default reso is 800x600 + i use 640x480 on internals depending on what lev i play

Post Reply