SetDisplayMode (setresdd) did not succeed!

Before starting a new topic read Moposite's Help and earlier topics. Note: this forum is for Elma problems, not Moposite.

Moderator: Moporators

Post Reply
eaglez
Beginner kuski
Posts: 1
Joined: 4 Mar 2003, 23:40
Contact:

SetDisplayMode (setresdd) did not succeed!

Post by eaglez » 4 Mar 2003, 23:49

when i try to start the game the screen get all gray and this message appears in a msg box... any idea whats wrong?
i tried it on diff computers here in school, some have dx8.1 and some dx9
help? =]

jcl
Donator duck
Posts: 390
Joined: 20 May 2002, 13:59
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post by jcl » 5 Mar 2003, 02:34

the selected resolution is not supported by your video card or monitor

solution: choose lower resolution :)

ps.: i generated the same error screen by choosing 1600x1200 resolution (my monitor supports anything up to 1280x1024)
the weed fan club

Laval

I have the same problem

Post by Laval » 29 Jul 2003, 05:04

When I launch Elastomania, my screem turn in gray and I have popup screen that say : "SetDisplayMode did not succeed".

My default resolution 1024x768 but I try a lot of resolution and I have always the same problem. I tryed a lot of thing since 3 months but without success.

I hope that someone can help me...

Thank's

Laval

Sniper VVolf

HELP I AM HAVING AN ERROR (setresdd)

Post by Sniper VVolf » 21 Jul 2004, 09:24

I am having the same problem, i cant play elma anymore (i used to be able to) can anyone help

teajay
Donator duck
Posts: 10040
Joined: 3 Apr 2003, 17:53

Post by teajay » 21 Jul 2004, 09:29

Make sure then your resolution is supported. If not, change it in ElmaConf.exe
If you still have ElastoMania1.0 or something, then try to remove the state.dat of your main directory of elma. If that doesn't work, there's something screwed up in elma.res or elma.exe, and then I recommend reinstall.

SpeaK
Kuski
Posts: 88
Joined: 23 Feb 2004, 16:46
Location: Finland
Contact:

Post by SpeaK » 21 Jul 2004, 12:56

I have this problem only when I've kept my memoryleaking p2p-program Shareaza open for too long.

When I'm lucky elma works again after I've closed Shareaza.
But often I keep getting that error even after that.
Only way to fix this is restarting my computer.

Well I really don't know what causes your problem.. Sounds strange it does the same on many computers. I guess you've done something wrong then. :p

Mazzic
Beginner kuski
Posts: 1
Joined: 7 Jun 2005, 14:20

Post by Mazzic » 7 Jun 2005, 14:27

I don't like making new threads unless I have to, so I'm using this old one.

I'm having the exact same problem as the ones above me. Doesn't matter if I try to use my registered version or if I download the demo version. I've tried the tips above but none of them works. Any more suggestions?

onlainari
Kuski
Posts: 824
Joined: 19 May 2002, 19:13

Post by onlainari » 8 Jun 2005, 14:50

Try change the resolution of your windows OS and elma both and see if it helps. You could try change some random video card options too and refresh rates. Change the true color 32-bit to 16 or 24 or anything... etc

Try if it would work if you disable your video card or if you go to safe mode to try elma or smth bulle. Quite strange.

SpeaK
Kuski
Posts: 88
Joined: 23 Feb 2004, 16:46
Location: Finland
Contact:

Post by SpeaK » 10 Jun 2005, 21:20

Ok, found another thing that can stop resolution changing from succeeding. Sometimes, if you have a background set on mIRC, changing resolution just won't work. Sounds crazy, but it's true.

User avatar
Pingywings
Kuski
Posts: 277
Joined: 29 Jan 2012, 16:10
Team: singy
Location: UK

Re: SetDisplayMode (setresdd) did not succeed!

Post by Pingywings » 13 Jul 2012, 22:46

Same problem. No resolution in eolconf or actual windows will work. Can't think of any ideas, there's some clever people on here though, please share your glorious wisdom. :D
Image

User avatar
Kopaka
Kuski
Posts: 6393
Joined: 23 May 2002, 13:59
Team: LAME
Location: In a northern danish city beating YOUR record.
Contact:

Re: SetDisplayMode (setresdd) did not succeed!

Post by Kopaka » 14 Jul 2012, 11:14

Try elma in windowed mode: http://zworqy.com/elmaguide/index.php?p=programs#d3d Should confirm if it's a problem with resolution.

User avatar
Pingywings
Kuski
Posts: 277
Joined: 29 Jan 2012, 16:10
Team: singy
Location: UK

Re: SetDisplayMode (setresdd) did not succeed!

Post by Pingywings » 14 Jul 2012, 11:47

Thanks for reply. I get an internal error :(

Image
Image

User avatar
Pingywings
Kuski
Posts: 277
Joined: 29 Jan 2012, 16:10
Team: singy
Location: UK

Re: SetDisplayMode (setresdd) did not succeed!

Post by Pingywings » 14 Jul 2012, 12:34

That worked really well, quick reply too.

Thanks Jappe :mrgreen:
Image

User avatar
Pingywings
Kuski
Posts: 277
Joined: 29 Jan 2012, 16:10
Team: singy
Location: UK

Re: SetDisplayMode (setresdd) did not succeed!

Post by Pingywings » 14 Jul 2012, 12:44

Offtopic, but Is there a way to import times? I used a backup folder with very old internal times in.
Image

User avatar
Lukazz
36mins club
Posts: 5207
Joined: 4 Jul 2004, 12:10

Re: SetDisplayMode (setresdd) did not succeed!

Post by Lukazz » 14 Jul 2012, 13:23

copy your state.dat into the new folder
TT: 36:59:53 || Avg TT: 38:09:65

Lammas
Kuski
Posts: 90
Joined: 1 Jul 2011, 15:20
Team: Ferrari

Re: SetDisplayMode (setresdd) did not succeed!

Post by Lammas » 3 Nov 2012, 21:28

im experiencing this aswell. i have to restart computer to make it work. but after i close elma and come play it later on again, it happens again.
Image
Image
lasse! time: 0.272

User avatar
Zweq
35mins club
Posts: 3868
Joined: 28 Nov 2002, 15:54
Location: suo mesta

Re: SetDisplayMode (setresdd) did not succeed!

Post by Zweq » 4 Nov 2012, 10:35

people should provide more information so we can at least see if the possible solution is obvious or unobvious.

- What resolution did you try to run elma with
- Your PC (desktop/laptop)
- Your monitor
- Your graphics processing unit (this probably doesnt matter as long as it's not from mid 90s or somethink)
- Your operating system

personally i think there is no 'magic' behind this, sure it could be something like active desktop in some windows mongosatan 17, but I can't test that because I've always used win XP.
Image

User avatar
Kopaka
Kuski
Posts: 6393
Joined: 23 May 2002, 13:59
Team: LAME
Location: In a northern danish city beating YOUR record.
Contact:

Re: SetDisplayMode (setresdd) did not succeed!

Post by Kopaka » 4 Nov 2012, 11:11

Did you try a fresh install such as the one provided above?

Lammas
Kuski
Posts: 90
Joined: 1 Jul 2011, 15:20
Team: Ferrari

Re: SetDisplayMode (setresdd) did not succeed!

Post by Lammas » 4 Nov 2012, 14:30

Zweq wrote:people should provide more information so we can at least see if the possible solution is obvious or unobvious.

- What resolution did you try to run elma with
- Your PC (desktop/laptop)
- Your monitor
- Your graphics processing unit (this probably doesnt matter as long as it's not from mid 90s or somethink)
- Your operating system

personally i think there is no 'magic' behind this, sure it could be something like active desktop in some windows mongosatan 17, but I can't test that because I've always used win XP.
-1920x1080
-Desktop
-Benq G2410HD
-idk
-Windows XP
Image
Image
lasse! time: 0.272

User avatar
Zweq
35mins club
Posts: 3868
Joined: 28 Nov 2002, 15:54
Location: suo mesta

Re: SetDisplayMode (setresdd) did not succeed!

Post by Zweq » 4 Nov 2012, 16:50

try with fresh installation from jappe2.net or with different resolutions.

if none of that helps you could go start -> run -> "dxdiag" display tab for some infos about your gpu
Image

Richard
Beginner kuski
Posts: 1
Joined: 25 Aug 2014, 19:05

Re: SetDisplayMode (setresdd) did not succeed!

Post by Richard » 25 Aug 2014, 19:06

Hello :)

I have tried to get EOL to work, but without any success so far.
Elma works fine, but not EOL. Then I got the message as topic says.

Can anyone help me? :)

Post Reply