Nvidia drivers

General discussion about the games and the scene.

Moderator: Moporators

Post Reply
User avatar
dz
first 39tt
Posts: 3742
Joined: 19 May 2002, 15:16
Team: FM
Location: Finland
Contact:

Nvidia drivers

Post by dz » 28 Sep 2002, 09:27

i dunno is it just imagination but i find it somehow "easier" to play with 120hz instead 60 hz.. just downloaded new nvidia detonators (40.72) and there is refresh rate override.. if elma IS played 640x480.. well it has always been 60hz as default, now its overrided to do 120..try it (if ur monitor supports)

what drivers you use and what hertz's ?

epp
Kuski
Posts: 546
Joined: 19 Aug 2002, 16:54
Location: denmark

Post by epp » 28 Sep 2002, 17:27

I´ll just try it. I got the driver, but i have not tryed to mess with the hz.
Image ^_^

Epsilon
Kuski
Posts: 365
Joined: 22 Aug 2002, 22:13
Location: Haifa, Israel
Contact:

Post by Epsilon » 28 Sep 2002, 23:24

How do you change your Graphics adapter's Mhz?
I also work on an nVidia Geforce.
Epsilon | TT : 45:42,82 | Elma Around the World | Smile levpack

darm
38mins club
Posts: 80
Joined: 23 May 2002, 11:43
Location: Far in Russia :)
Contact:

....

Post by darm » 30 Sep 2002, 10:31

go to my site and download a prog (HzTool) that can chenges hz in different resolutions. I play at 150 :)

User avatar
dz
first 39tt
Posts: 3742
Joined: 19 May 2002, 15:16
Team: FM
Location: Finland
Contact:

Post by dz » 30 Sep 2002, 14:47

instead running external program, why not just install newer nvidia drivers from www.nvidia.com and use its' internal hz-changer ? :)

EML
Kuski
Posts: 85
Joined: 23 May 2002, 23:35
Location: 8==D Penis

Post by EML » 30 Sep 2002, 20:11

this is what i would call cheating... tsktsk...

EML - Peace, Love and AntiChrist
-I'm Jesus. Be Jesus like me. Religion is Poison.-

Ultimate Power - EML

User avatar
Abula
Moposite admin
Posts: 4344
Joined: 16 May 2002, 23:00
Team: FM
Location: Helsinki
Contact:

Post by Abula » 30 Sep 2002, 20:16

EML wrote:this is what i would call cheating... tsktsk...
Really? So if I open my window and get some fresh air that's also cheating because I get better results? Hm, I'm tired but I can't sleep because it would make me to get better times. Ok a bit far but am I allowed to buy wider monitor? The bike would be bigger then and easier to see everything.
40:02,71 (104.) | WCup4: 8. | 3x WR | 3x GAA | 9x FEM | KOM | Article | UPLOAD

User avatar
ribot
Not banned
Posts: 2284
Joined: 19 May 2002, 16:20
Location: omnipresent fractal hologram
Contact:

Post by ribot » 30 Sep 2002, 20:51

what about drugs? coffee makes me play better. there is no limit in reality, the competitors just have to get along, but then still some cheat. phew, life is hard :]

- ElmaWars http://zzz.ink/war - lauta
- Elma Title
- Elma 3D HD (RPG GAME, GAA nominee)
"leader status in the Elma against-the-system underground" - Abula

User avatar
Karlis
Höylä Optimus
Posts: 1081
Joined: 26 Jun 2002, 09:11
Location: Hellsinki

Re: Nvidia drivers

Post by Karlis » 1 Oct 2002, 13:50

dz wrote:i dunno is it just imagination but i find it somehow "easier" to play with 120hz instead 60 hz.. just downloaded new nvidia detonators (40.72) and there is refresh rate override.. if elma IS played 640x480.. well it has always been 60hz as default, now its overrided to do 120..try it (if ur monitor supports)

what drivers you use and what hertz's ?
default, ok?

where to dl 40.72, gimme url, plz?
Tomorrow's Lucky Run Solutions Today
Flowertouching Men
Image

EML
Kuski
Posts: 85
Joined: 23 May 2002, 23:35
Location: 8==D Penis

Post by EML » 1 Oct 2002, 13:55

is it ok for me to use another program to make the bike act differently?

I was called a cheater for doing that. I don't see the big difference really... You are making the bike behave different with some external program. Cheating in my opinion... Just like the alovolt patch

EML - The AntiChrist Crusader
-I'm Jesus. Be Jesus like me. Religion is Poison.-

Ultimate Power - EML

User avatar
Karlis
Höylä Optimus
Posts: 1081
Joined: 26 Jun 2002, 09:11
Location: Hellsinki

Post by Karlis » 1 Oct 2002, 14:39

don't you tell me what is cheating :)

anyway, I agree, video card tuning is cheating imo.

but if you can't beat them, join them.
Tomorrow's Lucky Run Solutions Today
Flowertouching Men
Image

User avatar
ribot
Not banned
Posts: 2284
Joined: 19 May 2002, 16:20
Location: omnipresent fractal hologram
Contact:

Post by ribot » 1 Oct 2002, 14:58

is it cheating to play on two computers?

- ElmaWars http://zzz.ink/war - lauta
- Elma Title
- Elma 3D HD (RPG GAME, GAA nominee)
"leader status in the Elma against-the-system underground" - Abula

User avatar
Karlis
Höylä Optimus
Posts: 1081
Joined: 26 Jun 2002, 09:11
Location: Hellsinki

Post by Karlis » 2 Oct 2002, 01:01

it is, if you have 4 hands


dz...........url?
Tomorrow's Lucky Run Solutions Today
Flowertouching Men
Image

User avatar
dz
first 39tt
Posts: 3742
Joined: 19 May 2002, 15:16
Team: FM
Location: Finland
Contact:

Post by dz » 2 Oct 2002, 05:10

dz wrote:instead running external program, why not just install newer nvidia drivers from www.nvidia.com
there you go :)

User avatar
Karlis
Höylä Optimus
Posts: 1081
Joined: 26 Jun 2002, 09:11
Location: Hellsinki

Post by Karlis » 2 Oct 2002, 09:16

I'm getting blind or something :)


edit: there's only 40:71 btw
Tomorrow's Lucky Run Solutions Today
Flowertouching Men
Image

User avatar
dz
first 39tt
Posts: 3742
Joined: 19 May 2002, 15:16
Team: FM
Location: Finland
Contact:

Post by dz » 2 Oct 2002, 20:53

yeh sorry my mistake but anyways.. just so you know they r only beta, though very well working they say. for ati users: eat sh*t n die :)

User avatar
Karlis
Höylä Optimus
Posts: 1081
Joined: 26 Jun 2002, 09:11
Location: Hellsinki

Post by Karlis » 3 Oct 2002, 04:43

playing @ 120 rulse ok
Tomorrow's Lucky Run Solutions Today
Flowertouching Men
Image

User avatar
Ramone
50mins club
Posts: 1893
Joined: 20 May 2002, 15:42

Post by Ramone » 18 May 2003, 02:51

I wanna play with 120 (whatever that means, bet it helps on Enigma :wink: ) But I have helcules... or what it is called :D

Anyway.. they Tuning discussion died when DMD left (?) the scene... MORE!
Elasto Mania - ez better

User avatar
Karlis
Höylä Optimus
Posts: 1081
Joined: 26 Jun 2002, 09:11
Location: Hellsinki

Post by Karlis » 18 May 2003, 09:21

lately I bought new monitor and now playing @ 150hz.......I think
Tomorrow's Lucky Run Solutions Today
Flowertouching Men
Image

User avatar
Ramone
50mins club
Posts: 1893
Joined: 20 May 2002, 15:42

Post by Ramone » 18 May 2003, 12:29

Karlis: Please explain the differences to me.
Elasto Mania - ez better

User avatar
dz
first 39tt
Posts: 3742
Joined: 19 May 2002, 15:16
Team: FM
Location: Finland
Contact:

Post by dz » 18 May 2003, 12:35

it's alot smoother, for like, if you look at the bikes wheel, it seems very smooth and beautiful

oizo
Kuski
Posts: 123
Joined: 26 Aug 2002, 22:46
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by oizo » 22 May 2003, 23:34

120hz in windows
120hz in quake3
120hz in elma

ye.. you get the point.. 120hz displayrefresh (Hz) is simply leet..
Image| TT: 41:xX:Xx

User avatar
dz
first 39tt
Posts: 3742
Joined: 19 May 2002, 15:16
Team: FM
Location: Finland
Contact:

Post by dz » 23 May 2003, 04:43

120 is nothing compared to 144 pwnage ;)

User avatar
Zweq
35mins club
Posts: 3904
Joined: 28 Nov 2002, 15:54
Location: suo mesta

Post by Zweq » 23 May 2003, 08:54

so it matters what refresh rate using?
i have always used 60hz because my montior doesn't support better 8O
is this big deal???
i mean can i get wrs more easily if i use 120hz? :?

User avatar
John
first 35tt
Posts: 4649
Joined: 28 Sep 2002, 19:42
Team: WNO
Location: Luleå, Sweden

Post by John » 23 May 2003, 15:11

Dont use tuning...play with default...always...
Image

User avatar
dz
first 39tt
Posts: 3742
Joined: 19 May 2002, 15:16
Team: FM
Location: Finland
Contact:

Post by dz » 23 May 2003, 16:31

Zweq wrote:so it matters what refresh rate using?
i have always used 60hz because my montior doesn't support better 8O
is this big deal???
i mean can i get wrs more easily if i use 120hz? :?
dz wrote:it's alot smoother, for like, if you look at the bikes wheel, it seems very smooth and beautiful
you don't get anything easier except you can of course maybe execute timings easier due to smoother gameplay. Actually, i think playing lower hertz is more "helpful" doing some tricks, for example bounces seem to be wasier with a little lag, and also alovolts was wayyyyy easier on slow computers with low refresh rate. i had a comp where i could do alovolt 100%. that's not big deal anymore after we got the patch to correct this terrible way disadvantage. Most likely i just enjoy having 144hz because its so beautiful and relaxing to your eyes.

User avatar
Karlis
Höylä Optimus
Posts: 1081
Joined: 26 Jun 2002, 09:11
Location: Hellsinki

Post by Karlis » 23 May 2003, 18:48

Zweq wrote:so it matters what refresh rate using?
i have always used 60hz because my montior doesn't support better
im quite sure that any monitor can do better than 60hz on 640x480
Tomorrow's Lucky Run Solutions Today
Flowertouching Men
Image

User avatar
Zweq
35mins club
Posts: 3904
Joined: 28 Nov 2002, 15:54
Location: suo mesta

Post by Zweq » 23 May 2003, 20:11

yep karlis. you're right
my monitor supports 85hz in 640x480 and 60hz in 1024x768

User avatar
Ramone
50mins club
Posts: 1893
Joined: 20 May 2002, 15:42

Post by Ramone » 24 May 2003, 11:19

Yesterday I got my brother to change hz to 85... havent played much but I dont see any different... and 85 is max for my screen... dunno how to change back even =)

I´ll use it now I guess... maybe I´ll see a difference if I swap back...
Elasto Mania - ez better

SuppaFly
Kuski
Posts: 31
Joined: 10 Sep 2002, 12:29
Location: Komarom, Hungary

Post by SuppaFly » 24 May 2003, 12:50

Where can i find "what hertz's i use?
I checked control panel, but don't found it :(
| 43:58:42 | SuPpa! |

User avatar
dz
first 39tt
Posts: 3742
Joined: 19 May 2002, 15:16
Team: FM
Location: Finland
Contact:

Post by dz » 24 May 2003, 12:53

you can try to activate monitor menu during elma, it might show your current hertz setting

eyals
Kuski
Posts: 89
Joined: 20 May 2002, 13:50
Location: Israel
Contact:

Post by eyals » 25 May 2003, 12:11

doesn't it kill your eyes when you play on high hz's?

User avatar
Karlis
Höylä Optimus
Posts: 1081
Joined: 26 Jun 2002, 09:11
Location: Hellsinki

Post by Karlis » 25 May 2003, 12:30

actually, it kills your eyes when you play on that sucky 60hz
Tomorrow's Lucky Run Solutions Today
Flowertouching Men
Image

User avatar
dz
first 39tt
Posts: 3742
Joined: 19 May 2002, 15:16
Team: FM
Location: Finland
Contact:

Post by dz » 25 May 2003, 13:44

the higer the hertz number is, the better it is to your eyes as karlis said.
60hz makes your eyes hurt, especially if you get used to higher.

User avatar
Antz
Donator
Posts: 1167
Joined: 14 Sep 2002, 16:52
Location: JKL, Finland
Contact:

Post by Antz » 25 May 2003, 16:07

funny, i have used 60 hz for several weeks (changed to bigger reso and didn't notice it had dropped hz so low) but my eyes have no trouble at all.
Image

User avatar
dz
first 39tt
Posts: 3742
Joined: 19 May 2002, 15:16
Team: FM
Location: Finland
Contact:

Post by dz » 25 May 2003, 16:41

60hz in windows enviroment?
try 100 and switch to 60 aftera month, now that's some omg feeling

eyals
Kuski
Posts: 89
Joined: 20 May 2002, 13:50
Location: Israel
Contact:

Post by eyals » 25 May 2003, 16:52

well can someone explain me how do i know what's my hz now and how do i change it?

User avatar
Abula
Moposite admin
Posts: 4344
Joined: 16 May 2002, 23:00
Team: FM
Location: Helsinki
Contact:

Post by Abula » 25 May 2003, 16:57

I have tried to switch to 80 and 100 many times (I have 60 now) but always eyes are hurting and terrible headache so I had to switch back.
40:02,71 (104.) | WCup4: 8. | 3x WR | 3x GAA | 9x FEM | KOM | Article | UPLOAD

User avatar
dz
first 39tt
Posts: 3742
Joined: 19 May 2002, 15:16
Team: FM
Location: Finland
Contact:

Post by dz » 25 May 2003, 17:07

thats most likely because your have sucky monitor which cannot display higher hertz's proper way.

onlainari
Kuski
Posts: 824
Joined: 19 May 2002, 19:13

Post by onlainari » 15 Aug 2003, 02:59

hell.... im think dmd after all didnt tune much at all... i tried his tunings wit no much difference after all....but if yu imagine yu do it yu do it.... same wit headache pills..yu have headache...yu take a pill and your friend gave yu wrong pill and yu think it was a headache pill...yu will get better like it was a real pill.....

Post Reply